[Interview] What happened to the straightforward Lee Jongsuk?

image

[Interview] What happened to the straightforward Lee Jongsuk?

Translation by: 07160914 /钟情唯硕
Source: OhMyStar

“Be Happy, let’s be Happy”, the lyrics from Zion.T’s ‘Yanghwa Bridge’, the song Lee Jong Suk (LJS) is recently listening to. He said the line “be happy” is not telling other people, but is to himself. When he said that, I realized there is something not right with this cheerful actor. When we met just now, his nasal voice and aegyo tone made me feel like he really was the straightforward and bubbly person like I heard. But when he sat down opposite me, I sometimes notice that he has a side which is not a little different from what I heard. “What happened recently?” This line was stuck in my throat, as if it would escape my lips anytime.

I like the way the “grown man” Ki Hamyung is jealous when he dates

Q. In your past interview, you said that you would buy your mum a new bag once in two months. Have you bought her one after Pinocchio ended?

LJS: (laughs) I should buy it. Starting from a certain time, my mum wouldn’t call me much when I start filming. She used to call me everyday, but she said she’s afraid it’ll affect me… So I often call her first after I end work and ask her “why do you not cal me”?

Q. She also manages the pension with your dad, it should be busy for her.

LJS: I heard a lot of fans go there. My dad often keeps in touch with the staff of the fanclub. The last time, there was a staff who was getting married, it was my dad who got the news first and told me, so I sent a wreath. (laughs)

Q. Now you seem to be less nervous. Let’s start talking about the drama. What have you been doing after Pinocchio ended?

LJS: Sleep. When we were filming, I could only sleep about two hours every day. I’m lacking too much sleep, no matter how much I sleep, I’m still tired. It doesn’t feel like it has ended. Actually, after it ended, I didn’t have any special feeling. It doesn’t feel real, and I don’t have much thoughts. I just wish “it’ll be good if I can sleep for a while more”. In the last week, we had to film 3 episodes, I could die of exhaustion. Because of the drama awards, it skipped airing for one day, so we thought the final episode would be delayed. But they said that it’ll be two episodes consecutively… The director and writer were all panicking.

Q. One year after IHYV, you are working with Jo Soowon PD and writer Park Hye-ryun again. Although it is something to be happy about, at the same time, it could be a burden. Even then, what was your reason for having chosen Pinocchio?

LJS: Firstly, there is rapport with Jo Soowon PD and Writer Park Hye-ryun. And the message Pinocchio wants to convey is very good. A good point about Park Hye-ryun’s works is that she can convey a heavy theme through a manner that is not too heavy. Especially for Pinocchio, she had defined it to be a “youth, growth, romance drama”. Her romance scenes are always like God-written, and it can totally capture the hearts of the female audience. This is very good. Shimtoong! (Note: this is a internet slang that is used in Korea, meaning that you are touched) Isn’t there something like that. (laughs)

This time, I put on the school uniform again. Previously I was also often asked till when I would wear the school uniform, but now I don’t give the uniform any special meaning. If I must categorize it, it is just a type of occupation. The background and lives of the characters are different, why does it matter.  Also, in Pinocchio, the uniform scenes are necessary to explain the background of Ha-myung and Inha.

Q. On this note, before you acted as Choi Dalpo and Ki Ha-myung, what are the parts that were pre-defined?

LJS: Ha-myung looks like a ‘grown man’, and has a mature image. He will be jealous when it comes to things related to Inha. For example, when Chansoo wants to hug Inha, he would block it. Although his thoughts are very childish and petty, but isn’t it like that when you are in a relationship. For a mature man to act so childish, I think it is rather interesting. (How do you know even this?) I can understand the thoughts of the viewers better.

Q. But other than the past, this character doesn’t have any special characteristics. It seems to be hard portraying it. How did you act it?

LJS: In my previous work, Doctor Stranger, I wanted to portray the character with more of a manhwa feel, so I added in some tricks in the actions and speech tones. But in Pinocchio, this character doesn’t possess any obvious traits and it won’t be good to portray it in a special manner. I thought for very long and decided to first follow what was in the script, and in the end, I naturally just blended into the emotions. My emotions became very rich later, it is weird that when I see the script or other dramas, I feel like I have more emotions? It became richer? It is that kind of feeling.

Q. Exactly until what degree is it…

LJS: Not long ago, when I saw  the stills of Kim Rae-won sunbae crying in Punch, I nearly cried even though it was just a photo. The male lead who has to hold back his tears even in the face of death looks very sad. When I read the script of Pinocchio, I also cried many times. Previously, on the days when I had to go on set, I would start feeling nervous from the morning and worry about how I should film the emotional scenes. I don’t know since when, I became more natural at using my emotions. When I monitor my performance, although in actual fact it is still not that satisfactory, I’m not as uncertain as before.

Q. So can we say that the reason you chose Pinocchio is because you wish to show the audience the growth in your acting?

LJS: Rather, this was the reason for Doctor Stranger. There is no other reason for choosing Pinocchio, I just want to find back the feeling I had when I first started acting, the feeling I had in the days when I thought that acting was very interesting. Putting aside everything, I just want to happily film with good people.

Q. I heard you received a lot of love on set? Is it because of this? Not long ago when we interviewed Park Shinhye, she said it is the first time she lost to a male actor at aegyo.

LJS: No. Previously when I filmed with others I also heard a lot of people say that I like to aegyo, but Shinhye is a really strong opponent. She is a lot better than me. (laughs) Thinking about it now, it is really fun acting with actors of the same age. It is more relaxing and we often fool around. Ah, it is also the first time that I have to look up at the other actor when we act together. Youngkwang-hyung and Lee Pilmo sunbae’s height is… it’s the first time I stepped onto the box that actresses use.

“Along with the increase in people who know me, I should be more careful. I understand this point.”

LJS: There is a scene where we ate strawberry ice… I did eat a lot of ice, but I didn’t think they would use ice that had salt. There is a noona in charge of the filming of the PPL, I’m really sad. I have a feeling of being betrayed. (I thought you don’t use the term noona now) Oh, yes, although it is a term that shows closeness, but I have decided not to use it again… (laughs)

Q. As compared to the six years of experience, you have a lot of works. It feels like you are running non stop.

LJS: I haven’t once had a relaxing break. Although I also don’t know how to rest. So there was once I thought about why I keep working. It seems to be like that. I don’t like to live the real life as Lee Jong Suk. There isn’t anything I specially like, at most I stay at home and watch dramas and praise that the male lead, thinking ‘that male lead is very cool’. When I live in an imaginary world, I feel like I become a more meaningful person…I feel like the me who only stays at home and watches drama is nothing. So I would have the thought that ‘the me in dramas is more like a living person’.

Q. In that case, non-stop filming is a form of “escape” to Lee Jong Suk?

LJS: (nods) That’s probably the case. And the work is really interesting. Such a good thing. I just sit there when they put on good make-up on me, I’ll just wear the pretty clothes they give me, I’m sculptured into the character in the drama…

Q. Even then, you should rest at suitable times. Only then would you avoid being worn out, and can act for a longer period of time.

LJS: But I don’t know how. The people I film with and reporters often ask me what I do when I rest, but I really don’t know anything. (laughs) I asked Shinhye, and she lives a very interesting life. But what I really like is just staying home and pressing the remote control. I also want to do something, but I don’t know how to start. In actual fact, I also don’t have time to rest. But, the selection of projects is 100% based on my will.

Q. Why don’t you rest in the drama, for example, act as a character that doesn’t require too much energy.

LJS: If there is such a project. (laughs) But it is weird that the characters I act always have a story and have emotional scars. Maybe I think that that kind of characters are interesting. As the past is revealed slowly, the character’s emotions change… I thought about it, the characters in the drama almost always don’t have parents. I also want to act as a chaebol, I also want to act as someone who is pampered at home. It’s good that I’m still young, there should be many chances.

Initially, the feeling of loneliness was hard for me, but after being alone for long, it actually feels good. The time from 12a.m to 2a.m, is when my emotions explode, the lyrics are clear and when I read the script at that time, I get absorbed.

Q. Up till now, the feeling I get is a little different from the you I see on the media, it is like you are holding back. Did anything happen recently?

LJS: It’s…last time when I have interviews, it is like talking about my feelings, and a little about the problems in acting. But now, I am gradually becoming more careful when I speak. As the number of people who knows me increase, I should be more and more careful. I understand this. During “School 2013”, whether I should say it or should not, I say it all, but now I keep thinking I should be careful when I speak.

Q. Isn’t being straightforward Lee Jong Suk’s greatest charm? From this aspect, your charm might be discounted.

LJS: The truth is that I have heard people say ‘you are becoming obvious like any other artiste’ (laughs)

Q. Yes, I don’t know what reason it is that made it like that. But, rather than caring about those who misunderstand you, wouldn’t it be better for you to just look at the people who like you?

LJS: Instead of saying that I mind the people who misunderstand me, it is more like “don’t seek trouble”. Nothing happens when I do nothing, why is there a need to make even one person misunderstand. When I hear things like that, I also don’t feel good, so I gradually think “I just need to act, I’ll just walk my path.” Now I don’t really look at the comments on the internet. I like to look at the comments on the works, or drama reviews on blogs. The audience can see more into my performance than I want to deliver, I feel this is very interesting.

About leejongsukworld

Hi everyone We are Lee JongSuk World Wide, a US based Global Fanclub of Actor/Model Lee Jong Suk. We deliver express news and updates about Lee Jong Suk.

Posted on January 29, 2015, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment